Reply To: Student: Kathy Strobos Homework Thread

Home Forums HOOK ‘EM DANO Student: Kathy Strobos Homework Thread Reply To: Student: Kathy Strobos Homework Thread

kathy.strobos
Participant

Homework Answer:

Rebecca Rector’s <u>Delivering Danger</u> (great title)

I really loved this opening and so I studied it to see what drew me in. Definitely voice. And for specificity, I think this sentence where he refers to the uniformed guards as “uniforms” which seems so spot on.

Uniforms were never good. Never met any that lived up to the brightness of his shiny
buttons. Especially here in Earth Port City.

At first I couldn’t find any issues. But then I thought about Linnea’s comments about what is credible and I thought that this could be changed:

“You think we did right?” the bald uniform said, as they shoved their way through the
crowd.
 “Putting it through a regular delivery service?”

“You want to get shot up? Course we did right. Let someone else take the risk.”

Shot up. Risk. What were they talking about? [They merged into the crowd.]

An oily-haired businessman strode along like he owned the place and knocked into me.

“Hey!” he yelled, like it was my fault.

It doesn’t seem like he’d overhear their conversation if they were in a crowd and he was pressed up against a shop. Or that they’d have that conversation in a crowd. Maybe change that to: as they passed by him. I think we would believe that they would disregard him because he’s a small boy.

Then have them merge into the crowd.

Mary Haselbue’s opening for <u>In the Cards</u> (Love the title):

I really enjoyed the dialogue here, but since I am not that familiar with Con, I became a bit confused at parts. Also, there was the heads talking in white space syndrome, which I do all the time in my manuscript. (And even when I think I’ve found them all, I still find pages of heads talking in white space.) But this is a great opportunity to give more of a feel for the whole convention.