History of From the Heart Romance Writers

Thank you for your interest in From the Heart Romance Writers.

The official name of our Chapter is From the Heart Romance Writers, Chapter #177 of Romance Writers of America. From the Heart Romance Writers started when several people realized there were a number of RWA members online who didn’t have access to a local Chapter.

The idea for an internet-wide, online RWA Chapter was the easy part; putting it all into effect was the hard part. After months of board meetings and hard work, the Chapter was formed.

On November 13, 1997 the Policies & Procedures were voted on. The chapter was incorporated as a nonprofit organization on May 11, 1998. By June 14, 1998, the Chapter had 36 members. Today, the chapter has over 300 members and continues to grow.

Laura Mills Alcott, owner of The Romance Club, was the Chapter’s Founder and first President. For many years, The Romance Club was From The Heart’s sponsor and the chapter owes its founding and early existence to Laura and a small group of other dedicated writers who worked to make their vision a reality.

We believe From the Heart Romance Writers is the answer for all those people wanting continuous contact with other RWA members who are interested in the same thing they are: Writing Romance. And not only that but Writing the Best Romance possible.

We’d like to thank all the Founding Members of From the Heart Romance Writers:

Laura Mills Alcott
Ruth D. Kerce
Lori Soard
Sally Painter
Beth Linden
Chris Bossert
Shelia Sneed
Becky McGraw
Diane Byrd
Suzanne Barr